Entries by Kristof Nas

Card Sako: Iraqi Christians, caught between survival and migration

Card Sako: Iraqi Christians, caught between survival and migration by Louis Raphael Sako* In a letter the Chaldean primate recalls the sufferings and persecutions of community in the last decade. He calls for future “guarantees” and a “common foundation” based on equal citizenship. The challenge of emigration, can only be defeated by restoring a social […]

Final Statement of the 2018 Chaldean Synod

Final Statement of the 2018 Chaldean Synod In response to His Beatitude (H. B.) Patriarch Cardinal Louis Raphael Sako’s invitation, the Synod of the Chaldean Church held its’ annual meeting, 7-13 August 2018, at the Patriarchate Headquarters in Baghdad. Bishops of different dioceses participated, including Australia, America, Canada, Europe, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon and Syria, bearing […]

Chaldeans in Belgium

A little bit of history   Whether they identify themselves as Chaldeans, Assyrians or Arameans, one thing they all have in common, namely their liturgical and linguistic heritage. They are Christians from the Middle East (South-East Turkey, Iraq, Syria, Iran) who have been the victims of persecution and oppression for the sake of their faith […]

Pope Fransiscus appoints patriarch Louis Raphael Sako to cardinal

Pope Francis will create fourteen new cardinals on 29 June 2018, including our Chaldean patriarch Louis Raphael Raphael Sako. For our patriarch Louis Raphael Sako this is a gift from the Pope to the entire Chaldean Church and a great support to the Christian minorities in Iraq, who have often been faced with persecutions by […]

Patriarch Sako nominated for the ‘Nobel Peace Prize’ 2018

Louis Raphael I Sako, patriarch of the Chaldeans, has been nominated for the ‘Nobel Peace Prize’ 2018. For Mar Louis Sako, receiving a prize is not important, but rather the symbolic value of the gesture, because it helps to keep the focus on the Iraqi people alive, as well as on the Christian community, which […]

Name conflict eastern Christian

Introduction Since the end of the 19th century, Christians from ancient Mesopotamia, such as Chaldeans, Arameans, Assyrians etc., are confronted with name conflicts that have persisted to this day. These name conflicts have always been the result of schisms and the disputes within this framework have evolved from a religious historical background to an ethnically-historical […]

Suraye does not mean Ashuraye

Introduction   The theory that the neo-Aramaic term ‘Suraye’ comes from the Akkadian term ‘Ashuraye’ and is therefore synonymous, is a common theory to convince that Christians in the Middle East, often known as ‘Suraye’ (Syriac), are the ethnic descendants from the ancient Assyrians. We deliberately describe this as a ‘theory’, because this has in […]

Entries by Kristof Nas

Chaldéens en Belgique en action pour préserver leur culture culinaire

Pour la troisième fois, les membres d’ACOM et de la Ligue Chaldéenne de Belgique ont pu présenter leur culture culinaire à la Grand-Place de Malines lors du Dimanche sans voiture du 16 septembre 2018. Comme les années passées, les gens pouvaient goûter les différents fromages mésopotamiens et le pain traditionnel. Une culture comprend différents aspects […]

Cardinal Sako: Chrétiens irakiens, pris entre la survie et la migration

  Dans une lettre, le primate chaldéen se souvient des souffrances et des persécutions de la communauté au cours de la dernière décennie. Il préconise de futures “garanties” et une “base commune” sur la base de l’égalité de citoyenneté. Le défi de l’émigration ne peut être vaincu qu’en rétablissant un tissu social et politique pour […]

Déclaration finale du synode chaldéen de 2018

Déclaration finale du synode chaldéen de 2018 En réponse à l’invitation du patriarche cardinal Louis Raphael Sako, le synode de l’Église chaldéenne a tenu sa réunion annuelle, du 7 au 13 août, au siège du Patriarcat à Bagdad. Des évêques de différents diocèses ont participé, notamment l’Australie, l’Amérique, le Canada, l’Europe, l’Iran, l’ Irak, le […]

Chaldéens en Belgique

 Un peu d’histoire   Qu’ils s’identifient comme Chaldéens, Assyriens ou Araméens, ils ont tous une chose en commun: leur héritage liturgique et linguistique. Ce sont des chrétiens du Moyen-Orient (sud-est de la Turquie, Irak, Syrie, Iran) qui ont été victimes de la persécution et de l’oppression pour le bien de leur foi depuis le début […]

Le pape Fransiscus nomme le patriarche Louis Raphael Sako cardinal

Le pape François créera quatorze nouveaux cardinaux le 29 juin 2018, dont notre patriarche chaldéen Louis Raphael Raphael Sako. Pour notre patriarche Louis Raphael Sako, c’est un don du Pape à toute l’Eglise chaldéenne et un grand soutien aux minorités chrétiennes en Irak, qui ont souvent été confrontées à des persécutions par des groupes terroristes. […]

Patriarch Sako nommé pour le prix ‘Nobel de la paix 2018’

Louis Raphael I Sako, patriarche des Chaldéens, a été nommé pour le ‘Prix Nobel de la Paix’ 2018. Pour Mar Louis Sako, recevoir un prix n’est pas important, mais plutôt la valeur symbolique du geste, car cela permet de garder le focus sur le peuple irakien vivant, ainsi que sur la communauté chrétienne, toujours victime […]

Conflit de nom des chrétiens de l’Est

Introduction   Depuis la fin du 19ème siècle, les chrétiens de l’ancienne Mésopotamie, tels que les Chaldéens, les Araméens, les Assyriens, etc., sont confrontés à des conflits de noms qui ont persisté jusqu’à ce jour.   Ces conflits de noms ont toujours été le résultat de schismes et les conflits dans ce cadre ont évolué […]

Suraye ne signifie pas Ashuraye

Introduction La théorie selon laquelle le terme néo-araméen «Suraye» vient du terme akkadien «Ashuraye» et sont donc des synonymes, est une théorie commune pour convaincre les chrétiens du Moyen-Orient, souvent appelés «Suraye» (Syriaque), qu’ils sont les descendants ethniques des anciens Assyriens. Nous décrivons délibérément cela comme une «théorie», parce que cela n’a jamais été prouvé, […]